, , , , , , ,

The boys’ hockey season started with fixtures against Woodbridge School at the weekend.


U14B v Woodbridge (D 2-2)
Away, the U14Bs had a very even game drawing 2-2. The team was captained well by Mark Johnson in a game dominated by RHS. Harry Pugh scored both of the RHS goals and ‘man of the match’ was Conrad Graham-Ambrossi.

U14A v Woodbridge (L 1-0)
A frustrating opening game for the first fixture of the season; RHS started on the front foot playing some excellent hockey with Captain, Will Christmas, orchestrating from the middle very well. Xavy Bull and Charlie Kilham dominated the back line effectively but a lapse in concentration meant Woodbridge scored with only their second shot of the game. A very encouraging  start despite the result. ‘Man of the match’ was Will Christmas.

U15B v Woodbridge (W 3-0)
The U15B team won 3-0 against a visiting Woodbridge side. RHS battled hard in an even first half before stealing the lead with a break through by Matt Saxby. In the second half RHS held much better shape through Captain, Cedric Hoskyns-Abrahall. Further goals were made by Oli Williams and Matt Saxby to wrap up the win.

U15A v Woodbridge (W 3-2)
The U15As showed great promise for a successful season, winning against Woodbridge. Francois Rossouw’s  defensive efforts stood out and were key to holding the opposition to just two goals. Ben Conner scored two goals and Charlie Kerr added another for a well-deserved win 3-2.

2nd XI v Woodbridge (L 2-0)
1-0 would have been a fairer reflection as RHS dominated the game in the first half. It was a good start to the season by a rather weakened 2nd XI. Drew Felstead captained and was ‘man of the match’.

1st XI v Woodbridge (L 7-3)
After a good pre-season the 1st XI started their game with high tempo but where ultimately outdone by some excellent attacking play by Woodbridge. Despite losing 7-3 the team showed great cohesion and determination throughout.  Goals were scored by Dan Smith, Peter Crockett and Ollie Sellers.  Players of the match were Calder Trewin-Marshall and Tom Miller.