Tags

, , , ,

England U19 v Ireland U19 - U19 ODI
Former RHS pupil and 1st XI Cricket Captain, Reece Topley, has been selected for next month’s England Lions (‘A’) One Day Tour of Australia.

The 18 year old left arm pace bowler is one of the youngest cricketers ever to be selected for the full England 2nd XI. The squad is captained by current Test Player, Joe Root, and possesses six England full internationals (James Taylor, Alex Hales, Danny Briggs, Scott Borthwick, Ben Stokes, and Joe Root). They will play five international matches against Australia ‘A’ at the MCG, Melbourne, SCG Sydney and at the Bluntstone Arena, in Hobart, throughout February.

Topley was delighted to hear of his selection on 23rd December. The former pupil said, “It was the best Christmas present I could have hoped for, I am so excited about this England Lions tour – the hard work over the last two years is certainly paying off, as not only have I become a much better ‘white’ ball bowler, but I have worked massively on my strength and conditioning”.

Topley who is approaching his third season as an Essex professional cricketer added, “I know I must continue to work hard in all aspects of my game but make the most of this opportunity in Australia. I know I shall be challenged on this One Day tour as this will be undoubtedly be a huge test for my bowling at some extremely fine Aussie batsman, but I cannot wait to start.”

This will be Topley’s third tour to Australia in the last nine mouths having recently performed so well at the Under 19 World Cup with England. He was acclaimed the ‘most complete bowler’ at the Tournament, the clear leading wicket-taker and, was nominated as the only Englishman in the selected Under 19 World XI.

We wish Reece every success in this tour and in his future playing career – Congratulations!